Tour of California Stage 1 Results

Peter Sagan survived a last minute tire change, coming from behind, to take the first stage of the Amgen Tour of California. Sagan rides for LIQUIGAS-CANNONDALE (LIQ). Second place was taken by GARMIN-BARRACUDA (GRM) Heinrich Haussler. Fred Rodriguez, riding for EXERGY (XRG), finished third.

Peter Sagan is 22 years and now has a career win of 27 professional races. He won The Big Bear Climb finish in 2010.

Children’s Cyclefest

Officer Volunteers Assistance

The Big Bear Cycling Association hosted the first annual Big Bear Children’s CycleFest 2012. It was a fun and interactive event for elementary school-aged children.

Safety Helmets

Children’s Cyclefest included a free bike and helmet inspection, safety discussions, a bike-handling skills clinic, and an obstacle course. It was the official kick-off event for the Amgen Tour of California Stage 6 Finish in Big Bear (Friday, May 18, 2012).

Photo compliments of Janet Aguila.

Safety Manual

More Cycling Safety

Live Broadcast Links

The Amgen Tour of California 2012 begins at 10:50 this morning in Santa Rosa, CA. There are several options for tracking the race this year. The Radioshack Tour Tracker is best for online and mobile. NBC Sports will broadcast the race. Next Sunday, the final stage through Beverly Hills, CA, will be broadcast on NBC.

Live Broadcast Links;

Television                  Online at Radioshack Tour Tracker

DroidX Cellphone                  iPhone

The first day of racing of the 2012 Amgen Tour of California will start and finish in Santa Rosa, California, the city that helped establish the race as the premier professional cycling event in the U.S. and home to three-time race champion Levi Leipheimer. Expect to see spectators perched in the trees, rooftops and in windows near the finish line as they vie for the very best view of the final sprint. The stage will start with two neutral laps around the city before heading out to the open roads of beautiful Sonoma County. Within 30 minutes, the race will reach the Town of Windsor and the first of several of the stage’s featured Sprints. The peloton will then head south, passing by several of Sonoma County’s world-famous vineyards. In Graton, the racers will turn east and head back into Santa Rosa for another Sprint, followed by a straight shot towards the coast and into the quaint town of Occidental. From there, the stage heads north on Bohemian Hwy. and follow a portion of Levi’s Leipheimer’s “King Ridge Gran Fondo.”

Stage 1 Santa Rosa, CA


Free Health Screenings at Lifestyle Festival & Cycling Expo

Arrowhead Medical Regional Center (AMRC) will have its Mobile Medical Clinic on site at The Amgen Tour of California Stage 6 Finish in Big Bear Lake as part of the Lifestyle Festival and Cycling Expo. Medical professionals will provide free screening services aboard its state-of-the-art Mobile Medical Clinic (MMC), a custom-built, 40-foot vehicle that that features two exam rooms, patient intake area and patient education center.

Visitors to the mobile unit during the Lifestyle Festival and Cycling Expo in Big Bear will have the opportunity to receive height and weight checks and screenings for blood pressure and blood sugar. In addition, information about the Medical Center’s Cancer Services will also be provided by a representative of that program.

MMC was implemented to provide new access points to basic health screenings/primary care and health education services throughout the County of San Bernardino. The MMC enables hospital personnel to reach deeper into remote areas of the county with limited access to medical services. ARMC has been using the MMC to conduct basic health screenings and for flu shot clinics and recently began providing primary care services in select areas of the county. Primary care services will expand to additional areas in 2012. The MMC continues to be a popular and valuable resource for health screenings throughout the year at various events in the county.

The mobile unit is the first healthcare vehicle of its kind to be deployed in the County of San Bernardino to provide screenings and primary care to select sites. For more information on ARMC’s mobile clinic, please call 909-580-1000.

Lifestyle Festival & Cycling Expo for Amgen Tour of California


One thing for certain is cycling fans will not get bored at “The Big Bear Climb!” (Amgen Tour of California Stage 6 Finish in Big Bear Lake on May 18). An interactive lifestyle festival and cycling expo just steps from the finish line on the grounds of Snow Summit Mountain Resort takes place before, during and after the race! It’s full of fun, liveliness, and excitement!

The festival has a wide assortment of fun-filled activities for all ages. There’s continuous music, a beer garden, food concessions, open-deck full bar, health & fitness expo, cycling demonstrations, Jumbo Trons with live race coverage, bike safety clinics, San Manuel Indian Bingo and Casino’s “Lucky 7 Bingo Game,” Arrowhead Regional Center’s Mobile Medical Clinic free health screenings, national sponsors and vendors, cycling gear, official race merchandise, kids bike rides, family activities and more. Down the road a bit excitement continues into the evening at Nottingham’s Tavern with goldsprints contests.

Amgen Tour of California Stage 6 Finish in Big Bear Lake is Friday, May 18. The race starts in Palmdale at 10 a.m., and is expected to end in Big Bear Lake sometime between 2:35 p.m. and 3:25 p.m. The finish line is located at Snow Summit Mountain Resort. The Lifestyle Festival and Cycling Expo is from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. at Snow Summit.

For more information about the 2012 Amgen Tour of California Stage 6 Finish in Big Bear Lake, or to learn about V.I.P. Finish Line Experience Packages including discounted lodging visit BigBear.Com or call 800-424-4232.